Wednesday, August 27, 2014

The Other Quartet - Sound Stains (2001)

Sound Stains is the second offering from the Other Quartet, a decidedly left-of-center unit featuring tenor saxophonist/clarinetist Ohad Talmor, trumpeter Russ Johnson, guitarist Pete McCann, and drummer Mark Ferber. The quartet explores a very wide musical spectrum: loud and anarchic pieces like "TOQ-TOQ" and "'Nant Nana," wild yet tightly executed groove explosions like "Bouncing Boontsy" and "Cages on Cage," and exquisitely intimate melodic statements like "Refraction" and "Arriving With Every Step." McCann provides everything from extreme fuzz-wah pyrotechnics to delicate, hypnotic chording, blending beautifully with the two horns and Ferber's equally versatile drums. (Ferber's kick drum sounds absolutely huge, more than making up for the lack of a bass player.) While avant jazz and free improvisation provide the aesthetic underpinning for the quartet, modern classical music plays a significant role as well. Talmor contributes an arrangement of the Shostakovich Piano Concerto No. 2 (Second Movement) -- remarkable for its sheer difficulty and the fact that it sounds not the least bit out of place. Johnson's "Chamber Piece No. 3" and Ludmilla Ulehla's powerful "Memorial for the People of Turkey" also underscore the group's classical bent or, more to the point, its extensive use of written as well as improvised material. Borrowing a little gag from R&B singer Jill Scott, the band adds a long sequence of three-second dummy tracks at the end of the disc and buries two hidden tracks at the end, bringing the total number of tracks to 44. David R. Adler ~ AMG

The Other Quartet - 13 Pieces (1998)

Link in Comments

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Chris Dahlgren - Slow Commotion (1996)

1996, Koch Jazz

1.  Visken
2.  Harmonic Cloud #3
3.  Good'n Plenty
4.  Velociraptor
5.  Mu Blues Mu Fugue
6.  In A Sentimental Mood
7.  The Lonious
8.  Crotales Cerastes
9.  Shifty
10. Cherbus Contemplating Tacky Figurines in Heaven

Chris Dahlgren - b
Ben Monder - g
Tim Ries - ss, ts
Kenny Wollesen - d

Monday, August 25, 2014

Last Of The Hipmen: David Murray, Hugh Ragin, Dave Burrell, Wilber Morris ... (1989, Jazzline)

Myth Science - Love In Outer Space (1995

Love in Outer Space is a fun, live barroom recording of some of New York's "out" downtown jazz players performing as the Sun Ra cover band Myth Science. Led by bassist Reuben Radding, this group delivers hot, personalized, roomy takes on such Ra tunes as "Kingdom of Not" and "Space Loneliness." With a jaunty yet professional looseness, tenor player Tim Otto (of Pink Noise Saxophone Quartet) and twisted altoist Briggan Krauss slither their tones through the excellent, fat grooves laid down by Radding and drummer Ed Ware. Not to be underestimated is the intensity of Anthony Coleman on organ -- he wails. Coleman's chunky solos poke you in the ribs and make your body move; he's all over the place, yet in full control of his instrument. The interaction between all the players (with their slightly bent sensibilities) makes this a real treat for Ra fans and an accessible, grooving introduction to Sun Ra's material for those who are interested.  Josyln Lane ~ AMG

Acoustic Bass,   – Reuben Radding
Drums – Ed Ware
Organ – Anthony Coleman
Saxophone [Alto] – Briggan Krauss
Saxophone [Tenor] – Tim Otto
Composed By – Sun Ra

Recorded live at the Knitting Factory Tap Bar on October 7-8, 1995.

Sunday, August 24, 2014

David White Quintet - Object Relations (1996)

1996, CIMP

1.  A Dream Where Nothing Happens
2.  Jay's Lament
3.  Serial Living
4.  Lovely Rita
5.  When
6.  Woman Holding Balance
7.  My Shining Hour

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Pino Minafra - Sudori (1995)

01. Exorcism  
02. Au Fond Je Suis Un Africain Du Nord  
03. Tango  
04. A Margherita  
05. Quando Dormi  
06. Tri-Bal  
07. Rosso E Nero  
08. Nuraghe  
09. Fantozzi  

Link in Comments